Where is Scotland?

Scotland is a part of the United Kingdom (UK) and occupies the northern third of Great Britain. Scotland’s mainland shares a border with England to the south. It is home to almost 800 small islands, including the northern isles of Shetland and Orkney, the Hebrides, Arran and Skye.

Scotland’s location is to the mid-west of Europe and is surrounded by several different seas. Located to the east of Scotland is the North Sea, which divides the country from other areas of Europe, in particular Norway and the rest of Scandinavia. Across the North Sea to the south-east is Denmark and further south still is Germany.

North and west of Scotland’s mainland is the Atlantic Ocean. Travelling north from Scotland will eventually bring you to Iceland and Greenland.

To the south-west, across the Irish Sea, is Scotland’s closest neighbouring island of Northern Ireland and Eire.

Scotland’s regions

Scotland itself is divided into a number of distinct and neighbouring regions:

Aberdeen City and Shire
Argyll and the Isles
Ayrshire and Arran
Dumfries and Galloway
Dundee and Angus
Edinburgh and the Lothians
The Kingdom of Fife
Greater Glasgow and the Clyde Valley
The Highlands and Moray
Stirling and the Trossachs
Orkney and Shetland
Outer Hebrides
Scottish Borders

Explore the Scottish regions