About Year of Innovation, Architecture & Design 2016

A country with rich heritage and culture, Scotland has a modern edge which includes contemporary design, bold buildings and world changing innovation, leaving people with a lot more than a sense of its impressive past.

Scotland has also been responsible for some of the biggest pioneers, discovering anaesthetics, creating Dolly the Sheep and constructing the Forth Rail Bridge, now a UNESCO world heritage site.

This year, all of this will be celebrated with a series of events from festivals of light, to festivals of architecture, luminous origami birds to Harris Tweed celebrations, digital gaming to Renaissance fashion; a stunning variety of events will take place the length and breadth of the country during 2016. 

The programme of 28 events join the Festival of Architecture in an exciting line up that will shine a spotlight on some of Scotland’s greatest assets, icons and hidden gems throughout the year.

Highlights of the programme include:

Clo Mor Festival of Harris Tweed (Outer Hebrides)
In Vogue – a fashion show of the centuries (Stirling Castle)
Luminous Birds – art installations encouraging communities to celebrate their surroundings (Aberdeen, Dumfries & Galloway, Glasgow)
Craft Scotland – Meet Your Maker (Scotland-wide)
Edinburgh International Science Festival – including a Tiny Home Trail (Edinburgh)
• World Canals Public Programme (Highlands)
Building Blocks at Glasgow School of Art (Glasgow)
SPECTRA – Festival of Light (Aberdeen)
• Keyframes – involving the RSNO (Edinburgh)
Ignite – celebration of creativity in our City of Design (Dundee)

The Year of Innovation, Architecture and Design is a Scottish Government initiative being led by VisitScotland, and supported by a variety of partners including Scottish Government, Creative Scotland, Architecture + Design Scotland, Scottish Tourism Alliance, Scottish Enterprise, The National Trust for Scotland, Historic Scotland, Highlands and Islands Enterprise and The Royal Incorporation of Architects in Scotland (RIAS).

Year of Innovation, Architecture & Design